• IproVPN
  • How To
  • How to Delete Skype Account Permanently (Easy Guide)
Delete Skype Account

How to Delete Skype Account Permanently (Easy Guide)

Skype isn’t as popular as it used to be once upon a time, and is losing quite a fair bit of user base by the day. With that said, if there is an app you’re not using, it is best you delete it. This guide will show you how to delete Skype account easily.

Table of contents

A couple of us are aware of the rising number of messaging apps available today, most of them obsolete. As newer software applications like Zoom come into par, what is to become of the “used-to-be-popular” Skype? Its popularity is declining by the day, which means you will need to delete your Skype account. Deleting an old app is crucial, just as deleting your search history, which leaves a lot of unwanted trailing crumbs.

Trails of user data can often leave the door open to cyberattacks. For starters, if your Skype contains chats that were meant to be classified, and somehow a hacker gets through to that information, we all know the end result!

Do you need to delete your Microsoft account for deleting your Skype account?

You don’t need to if you don’t want to. Yes, you need a Microsoft account for signing up with Skype, but you also need your Microsoft account for other services too. You will need it for services like Outlook, Bing, or Xbox Live.

However, the drawback is that if you need to delete Skype account permanently and everything else with it, you will need to delete your Microsoft account.

Either way, if you’re trying to meet halfway by keeping Microsoft and deleting just Skype, you won’t be able to so completely. You will, however, have to keep all information and data to a minimum on Skype. It will help ensure the protection of important information even after you delete it.

If you’re mainly deleting your Skype account for security or privacy purposes, why not secure it or your connection by using a VPN? iProVPN offers a great array of features that are created for security enhancements on media platforms.

How to cancel Skype subscription

Before completely proceeding to delete your Skype account, keep in mind that you will still get charged even after the account is deleted or inactive. This is only regarding those users who have paid for extra Skype features.

For starters, Skype is a free communication and messaging app, however, there are certain features that come with a cost. If you’re only planning on voice or video calling a Skype to Skype account, it’s free. However, if you’ve signed up to call a mobile number or landline through Skype, it costs around $2.99 a month.

So, with that said, if you’re planning on deleting Skype, make sure to cancel your subscription too, to prevent getting charged later on. Here’s how:

  • Head over to your “Microsoft Services & subscriptions” page and “sign in to your account.”
  • Now, look for “Skype subscription” and click on “Payment & billing.”
  • Then, click on “Cancel.”
  • To complete the process, follow the on-screen instructions.
  • For confirmation of subscription cancelation, you will receive an email.
  • That’s about it!

Delete Skype messages (How-to guide)

Don’t want to delete Skype account and only need to clear up a few important messages? It’s a good practice to consider! Leaving around a couple of important messages can be a risk if you’re an inactive Skype user. It can leave the portal open for future attacks like phishing scams etc. The same applies to when you deleting other social accounts like Tinder. Take a look at the tutorial below showing you how to delete your Skype messages. We’ve divided it between desktop and smartphone settings.

· For desktop

All you need to do is click on the conversation box you’d like to delete messages from. For instance, if you’d like to delete a message from “Gary” click on his chatbox. When you find the message you want to delete, click on the three small dots next to it.

Delete skype messages

When you click on it, a drop-down menu will show up. Just click on “remove,” and that’s all! It’s deleted!

How to remove Skype messages

· For mobile

It’s almost the same procedure. First, open the Skype app, and click on the chat, with which whose message you’d like to delete. Look for the particular message, and press down on it. Again, a drop-down menu will appear. Click on “remove,” and your message will be deleted.

Delete Skype messages on smartphone

How to delete Skype conversations

Just in case deleting the message is not all you require, and would like to delete an entire conversation, it’s far easier to go through with. For desktop client, all you need to do is right-click on the chat that you would like delete and click on “delete conversation” from the drop-down menu.

The same goes for the mobile app. Hover over the chat that you want to delete, hold down the chat until a pop drop-down menu appears. Click on “Delete conversation.”

That’s about it!

Now, if deleting both Skype messages and conversations aren’t enough, and you would like to delete your Skype account entirely, let’s move on to the tutorial below.

How to delete Skype account on Windows or Mac desktop

As mentioned above, to delete Skype account, you will need to delete your Microsoft account entirely. Along with that, you lose access to other Microsoft accounts. So, if you’re completely sure you’d like to stay off the grid, proceed with the tutorial below for Windows or Mac desktop apps:

  • Open the Skype app on your desktop.
  • Click your Skype profile on the top left corner of the screen, and then click on “Settings” from the drop-down menu.
  • You will see a list of options on both left and right side. On the right-side panel, click on “Close your account.”

Delete Skype desktop

  • This means you’re planning on deleting Skype and discontinuing your Microsoft account.
  • Enter your password to proceed.
  • Make sure you deal with other Microsoft accounts, if any, before proceeding. When you’re sure about it, click on “Next.”
  • There will be a checklist. You need to enter the reason for deletion or click on “My reason isn’t listed.” Now, click on “Mark account for closure.”

Once you’re done with this, you will need to wait 60 days for Skype and other Microsoft accounts to be completely deleted. Also note that you can still use your account in between these 60 days until it’s ready to be deleted.

Delete Skype account on Android or iOS smartphones

Fortunately, the settings have become a little more improved since the last time, and you can now delete Skype account on smartphones. Here’s how:

  • Launch Skype, and click on your profile image.
  • You’ll see a drop-down menu, click on “Settings.”
  • Next, click on “Account & Profile.”
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the drop-down menu, and click on “Close your account.”
  • Re-sign into your Microsoft account to proceed, and follow the onscreen instructions.
  • That’s about it!

Again, just like the desktop app, you will need to wait 60 days for the deletion to be complete. Other than that, if you’re having trouble with the mobile app, simply delete Skype account from your desktop. It’s much easier that way!

Is there a way to know if a Skype account is deleted?

Once you delete Skype accounts, you will know for sure because you won’t be able to sign in. Sure, that could mean a lot of things. But, if you’ve filed for an account termination, and the 60-day waiting period is over, it means your Skype account is deleted.

If you happen to change your mind, you can still log into your account and revert the settings, but only during that 60-day timeslot. When your account is deleted, you won’t appear in any search results, nor will be found by other contacts. You will lose access to all files, data or media files once your Skype account is deactivated.

Will Skype delete inactive accounts?

What about the inactive accounts? Does Skype terminate it? These are among some of the most commonly asked questions. Usually, Skype doesn’t delete inactive accounts mostly because it’s linked to Microsoft. Deleting a Skype account would inherently mean deleting other Microsoft accounts linked together. However, there are some cases where inactive Skype accounts are deleted mostly when they’re not linked to Microsoft.

Have any more information to add? Any more questions in mind? Feel free to leave a comment or suggestion below!


You May Also Like


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *